10 Things We Wish We Knew Before Starting Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3 has finally released on the Nintendo Switch. We've played through it and want to share some things new players should know.

It has been almost ten years since the last Marvel Ultimate Alliance game came out. Suffice it to say fans have been waiting to get their hands on this for a long time and thankfully it does not disappoint. Sure it doesn't reinvent the wheel, but for diehards, that's probably a good thing.

Whether one is jumping into this series for the first time or has been with it since day one, here are some helpful tips and facts that should make the game just a little bit easier.

RELATED: Marvel’s Avengers: Everything We Know So Far About The Video Game

10 Team Bonuses

It may be enticing to mix and match one’s favorite Marvel heroes randomly, which is an okay strategy, but there are bonuses to be aware of. For example, creating a team composed of only X-Men, Avengers, or Spider-Man’s friends can all result in one bonus.

If said Avengers are all women then that’s another bonus on top of that. These bonuses are all stat-based and are small buffs, but every little bit helps in the fight against Thanos.

9 Puzzle Heavy

For those expecting a straight-up party brawler, well, think again. As fun as it is to literally smash through waves of bad guys, Koei Tecmo thought it was a good idea to break up the action by introducing puzzles.

These are implemented in the form of figuring out a series of button prompts to open up sealed gateways, or by simply pushing blocks around. They are more annoying than they are hard, but for an action game, they just aren’t needed.

8 A Fresh Start

There is good news for newcomers to this series and on top of that bad news for old fans. While there is a number three in the title, none of the previous two entries have any hold on the plot.

The first two were also separate for the most part so it’s not like it is a big surprise. It may be comforting to know though for those often intimidated by jumping into sequels fresh that this is a new story without any callbacks. Seeing the MCU films may help though just in terms of knowing who people are.

7 Some Heroes Can Charge Abilities

There isn’t a lot to the combat and most of it is told pretty well through the first stage’s tutorial. That said there are a few things one has to discover on their own. One such example is charging special abilities.

RELATED: The 10 Best Marvel Games With Multiplayer, Ranked

Certain skills can be charged up to increase damage like Hawkeye’s first arrow technique.  Again, this just applies to actual specials so make sure and try this out for every hero. Most character’s ability descriptions will also make a note of it.

6 The Camera Is More Villainous Than Thanos

Here is another slight warning for new adventurers. The camera is bad. Like PS1 era where developers were still trying to figure out 3D perspectives bad. That is not hyperbolic at all. Playing with friends online, or via couch co-op, restricts the angles to mostly top-down perspectives.

In single-player, the camera allows for more up-close perspectives, but in both cases the angles are just nauseating. It’s amazing to have a game with this bad of a camera in 2019. Thankfully the rest of the core gameplay is great so just push through it!

5 Relatively Short

One of the final warnings for this article is in regard to how short the game is. Just for the core story alone, it takes about twelve hours. There are tons of heroes to level up and try out thus extending one’s time.

RELATED: Ranked: The Top 10 Suits In Marvel's Spider-Man PS4

There are also optional trials that can grant rewards such as new outfits and big EXP boosts. For those only interested in the plot though, this game may be only worth a rental especially at $60 right now. It really depends on what one wants from the experience.

4 Leveling Up Not For All

As cool as it is to have a giant roster filled with amazing characters for every fan, there is a downside. Characters that don’t fight in battle will not receive experience.

That’s why it is recommended to try out every hero before sinking a lot of time into their builds. Why waste time leveling up someone that ends up being terrible? There are no training rooms to test out heroes in, but jumping into those aforementioned trials is a good way to check out their might.

3 How Progression Actually Works

Fighting enemies will net EXP for those there for battle even if the player never uses that character. That’s just like any RPG, right? When characters start off they have one special. At ten they learn another, then one at 15, and their final ability is unlocked at 20.

RELATED: 10 Facts Casual Fans Never Knew About Marvel Games

Each ability can be boosted with AP. There is also The Lab, which is like a Sphere Grid from Final Fantasy X. Using gold to boost stats works across all heroes so that’s nice. Finally there is no gear, but special crystals can act like a shield, or helmet and each gem increases random stats. Phew, and that’s pretty much it!

2 Hidden Goodies

As demonstrated toward the beginning of the game, in The Raft, there are breakable walls in the game. These are not just story based either.

Even though the game is fairly linear, there are a few brief moments of exploration so be mindful to take a breather. Besides walls, there are also random boxes that usually contain gold. Sometimes bigger crates will have key upgrade points too.

1 The Avengers Assembled Are...

For the last entry, let's go through every character that can be unlocked in the game. This may spoil some of the fun, but also excite those curious who is in it.

By the end of the game players will be able to take on the role of Drax, Gamora, Star-Lord, Rocket and Groot, Black Widow, Falcon, Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Hulk, Wolverine, Scarlet Witch, Crystal, Captain Marvel, Venom, Luke Cage, Miles Morales, Ms. Marvel, Spider-Gwen, Iron Fist, Daredevil, Wasp, Hawkeye, Psylocke, Nightcrawler, Deadpool, Elsa Bloodstone, Ghost Rider, Dr. Strange, Storm, Black Panther, Electra, Magneto, Loki, and the big surprise, Thanos.

NEXT: 10 Underrated Superhero Games

Next Skyrim: 10 Things That Make No Sense About The Thieves Guild