www.thegamer.com

Apex Legends' First Tournament Features Top Twitch Streamers, Is Just Around The Corner

Respawn Entertainment's free-to-play battle royale Apex Legends hasn't been out that long, but the first tournament is only a few days away.

The title, which looks set to rival the ever-popular Fortnite, is garnering rave reviews since it dropped on February 4 and saw a million unique users drop in during its first eight hours; the figure doubled overnight.

According to Dexerto.com, Respawn has announced that the first Apex Legends tournament will be the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Challenge. Popular Twitch streamers Dr Disrespect and Shroud had tossed a few hints leading up to the official announcement, and it has since been confirmed that a total of 48 well-known streamers will be taking part.

RELATED: I've Been Playing Apex Legends Since Monday - Here's What I Think

The tourney, organized by Respawn and Twitch Rivals, will be played on two separate days (February 12 & February 19) and will be split between North America and Europe, with the locations to feature 24 streamers each. The $200,000 prize pool will be split right down the middle, making it so that $100,000 is available to participants from each region.

The European half of the contest will begin at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM GMT and that will be followed up by the North American half which kicks off at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM GMT.

The full list of participants is yet to be announced but some of the big names involved are Dr DisRespect, Sacriel, TSM's Myth, DisguisedToast, RealKraftyy, and Shroud.

via pcinvasion.com

Each region's tournament will have eight teams consisting of three players to make up the 24. They will drop into public online matches during a four-hour period and try to get as many points as they can.

Teams will have an unlimited number of tries within the aforesaid timeframe, and the scoring system will reward every win with five points and every kill with one point.

Given that each region will host four competitions, every tournament will carry a prize pool of $50,000. Squads will be placed on a leaderboard based on the points they gain during the four hours and each position on the board will have a designated amount of cash, with first place set at $8,000.

Persons looking to watch the tournament can catch the central broadcast on the official Twitch Rivals Channel on the above dates and times.

READ NEXT: Another Titanfall Game Has Been Confirmed For This Year, But It Isn't Titanfall 3

Last-Gen Servers For Burnout Paradise To Shut Down In August

More in News