Final Fantasy XIV: 10 Hardest Mounts To Get

Final Fantasy XIV has no shortage of mounts, although some may be more effort than they are worth.

There is literally so much you can do in a game like Final Fantasy XIV. It has everything from running dungeons and trials to completing beast tribe quests, but one of the best things to do has to be showing off your hard-earned mounts. It’s not uncommon to see other players having a ‘whose mount is better?’ contest.

RELATED: Final Fantasy XIV: 10 Reasons Shadowbringers Is The Best Expansion So Far

After all, there are so many different ones you can collect and a lot of them are really cool. But which mounts are the hardest to get? It’s time to find out with the 10 hardest mounts in Final Fantasy XIV!

10 Nightmare

While the act of getting this mount isn’t hard on its own, the amount of time it can take to get Nightmare is what landed it on this list. It drops from any of the following three Realm Reborn trials: The Bowl of Embers (Extreme), The Howling Eye (Extreme), and The Navel (Extreme).

The same method of pony farming is used to get the Nightmare Whistle, but the drop rate is ridiculously low. It can take a long time for it to drop, with some having played for years and seeing the whistle once or twice.

9 Parade Chocobo

Just like Nightmare, the process to get this one isn’t necessarily difficult. What makes Parade Chocobo a pain is that it needs 3,000 player commendations to get the achievement that is traded in for this mount.

RELATED: Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers: All DPS Classes, Ranked

Since running dungeons and trials with a pre-formed party don’t reward commendations, you have to run them through the Duty Finder and hope that you get a commendation. It’s even more tedious if you’re a DPS main – everyone knows how player comms as a DPS goes.

8 Amaro Mount

This is a new mount, having only just been introduced with the Shadowbringers expansion. This not-quite-a-Chocobo is featured throughout the storyline of this expansion, so it’s no surprise that a mount based on it was created.

What makes this one tough to get? It’s another achievement mount and requires players to reach level 80 on every single Healer, DPS, and Tank. So if you love playing all the classes, this might be the mount for you.

7 The PVP Warsteeds

There are three variations of these mounts and they’re all the same level of difficulty to obtain. They are the Flame Warsteed, the Serpent Warsteed, and the Storm Warsteed. Just like their names suggest, they are linked to achievements that pertain to the Grand Companies.

RELATED: Final Fantasy XIV: 10 Facts You Never Knew About Y'shtola

To get one of them, you have to win 100 battles in Frontline with the Steed’s respective Grand Company. The difficulty comes from winning 100 instances of PvP, as you never know how a fight’s going to go and that is a large number of battles to run.

6 Demi-Ozma

If you’ve cleared Wiping – Er, Weeping City, then you’ve seen the boss fight with the silver shape-altering form of Ozma. It’s a pretty cool boss on its own, but the fact that you can now use it as a mount is pretty awesome.

What’s not so awesome is the method of getting Demi-Ozma. You have to run and clear the Baldesion Arsenal – a dungeon found within Eureka. Described as “brutally difficult,” it’s an open dungeon that can have up to 56 people at a time. Good luck!

5 Sabotender Emperador

This is quite possibly one of the best mounts in the entire game. Who wouldn’t want to ride around on a miniature version of The Gold Saucer? Despite being a miniature, the mount is quite large and a lot of fun to use. It’s also possible it could be considered fun trying to get this mount, assuming you love trying your luck at the Eorzean casino.

To get the Sabotender, you have to save up 2,000,000 MGP. Ouch. Maybe it’s time to play some Triple Triad and try your luck with the Cactpot.

4 The Tank Mounts

There are four in total, as there are currently four tank jobs you can play. These mounts are yet another kind that requires an achievement to get and each achievement is specific to the tank job played.

RELATED: Final Fantasy XIV: 10 Facts You Never Knew About The Goddess Of Light Hydaelyn

To get the achievement, you have to meet one of the following: Complete 300 dungeons, extreme trials, leveling duty roulette duties, or level 50/60 roulette dungeons – all at level 61 or higher. This also means that if you want all four of these mounts (the Battle Bear, Lion, Panther, and Tiger), you have to do this on all the tank Jobs.

3 Astrope

You may have seen this mount here and there in all of its white, unicorn glory. If you haven’t, that isn’t entirely surprising either, considering how much of a pain this one is to acquire. This is the Mentor mount, meaning you can only get it if you’re a mentor and on top of that, Astrope also requires earning an achievement.

Said achievement requires you to complete 2,000 (yes, you read that right – 2,000) duties through the Mentor Duty Roulette. With the coming changes to the Mentor requirements, it’s about to be even harder to get this sucker. One can dream.

2 Black Pegasus

This mount is pretty well-known in the FFXIV community for being nearly impossible to get and for a few good reasons, too. First, you have to run Palace of the Dead. Next, you have to make sure you have a fixed party, and third, you have to get to floor 151 to even have a chance at this mount dropping.

Those who run Palace to these floors are usually looking for the Gold Trimmed Sacks that the Night Pegasus Whistle can drop from. Yeah, that’s right – You’re not even guaranteed the mount; you have to hope you get lucky and do it all over again if you don’t. Fun, right?

1 Centurio Tiger

This is probably one of the hardest mounts to get in the entire game. Why? It’s from doing the Hunt Marks, but it’s not as simple as knocking down a few Gaelicats. You have to take down 3,000 A Elite Ranks and 2,000 S Elite Ranks, bringing the total to a whopping 5,000 difficult and randomly-spawning marks you have to hit.

You’ll probably want to join a Linkshell that’s focused on Hunt Marks. They’ll let you know if one has spawned, but keep in mind there’s always the risk that it’ll be dead by the time you get there.

NEXT: Final Fantasy XIV: Top 10 New Minions, Ranked

Next 10 Things Only 90s Kids Found In Pokémon Red & Blue